First Poetesses: The Code of Ancient Greek Women’s Poetry

First Poetesses: The Code of Ancient Greek Women’s Poetry Sappho, Myrtis, Telesilla and others

Print Edition (448 pages)
View demo 13.68 $
Google Play
254.32 UAH
8.99 $
The phenomenon of women writing poetry first arose in Аncient Greece. Alexandrian scholars established the canon of Greek poetesses, which included Sappho, Myrtis, Telesilla, Praxilla, Corinna, Erinna, Anyte, Nossis, and Moero (from the seventh to the third century B. C.). But there were also poetesses outside this canon, such as Hedyle, Philinna, Melinno, Julia Balbilla, Caecilia Trebulla, Damo, Cleopatra, Theosebeia, and Eudocia Augusta (third century B. C. to the fifth century A. D.). The Code of Ancient Greek Women’s Poetry is the first complete edition of these canonical and non-canonical poetesses and their works in Ukrainian translation. It contains over 350 poetic texts and fragments from Sappho to Eudocia Augusta, i. e., from the priestess to the empress. This collection of the entirecorpora of ancient Greek women’s poetry was compiled from classical anthologies and is substantially supplemented by recent epigraphic and papyrological publications.


Additional information

Product code: 00253

ISBN: 978-617-664-180-3

Publish year: 2019

Genre: Poetry

Age categories: Adult

Cover: Hardcover, slipcover

Size: 24×17 см

Illustrations: Colour and Black & white


The 5 Most Poetic Books of 2019


“First Poetesses: The Code of Ancient Greek Women’s Poetry” is a philological and poetical book of the Astrolabe Publishing that will tell you about the first poetesses of Ancient Greece and their poems. All lovers of true poetry and poets must read it.

Read the continuation here.

Women of Muses’ Choice: Ancient Greek Women’s Poetry — in Ukrainian

By Olena O’Lear


If you ask modern-day philology students which poetesses of Ancient Greece do they know, you’re lucky if they mention Sappho’s name. Meanwhile, the canon of Ancient Greek poetesses contains nine names — Anyte, Praxilla, Moero, Sappho, Telesilla, Erinna, Corinna, Nossis, Myrtis.

Read the continuation here.

All rights reserved © Astrolabe Publishing, 2022